Cultural plans for 2012

January is nearly over and the Scribblaire hasn’t yet outlined what cultural delights lay ahead for me in 2012, so here’s my first attempt at a list. Some of the events listed are already booked and I’m sure there’ll be others added as the year progresses.   It being Olympic year here in the UK, there’s a feast of sporting highlights to look forward to.  Note: the Scribblaire’s definition of culture is very broad as you’ll see!

January – off to see Cosi fan Tutte at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden.  The Scribblaire likes opera, but nothing too heavy.

February – nothing firmed up yet, but perhaps an opportunity to get along to a premier league football match – preferably at Anfield, but possibly Fulham!  The Picasso exhibition opens at the Tate Britain and Hockney will be at the Royal Academy.  The crowds might have died down a bit by late February, although not if the recent Leonardo exhibition is anything to go by.

March – The Four Tops, the Temptations and Tavares in one show at the O2.  I’m very excited about seeing some of the best soul acts ever.  The Scribblaire was fortunate enough to see some soul greats in 2011 including Percy Sledge, Booker T, Jimmy James and Gwen Dickey.

Hugh Masekela is on at the Barbican on 10th March, but I haven’t got tickets yet.

April – I’m booked to see the Osmonds at the Hammersmith Apollo.  What can I say, it’s their final UK tour (apparently)! A guaranteed sing-along opportunity.

May – a trip to Santorini to visit the ancient ruins at Thira and soak up some rays.

A friend of the Scribblaire is in the cast of ‘Revolution the Musical’ which is on in the South West of England in May and June.  I’ll need to get along to see that.

June – Wimbledon fortnight.  I’m hoping some good tickets will come my way from the annual ballot.  If not, I’ll be glued to the TV, so don’t expect too much blogging.  I’d like to go along to the Maryport Blues Festival, but a clash with wimbledon doesn’t work well for me.  I was gutted to miss out on Robert Cray’s performance there a couple of years ago though, which might have been worth missing a bit of tennis for.

Sometime between June and August I must get along to the Summer Exhibition, which I didn’t get around to in 2011.  Maybe I’ll even submit a work of art for consideration, which anyone can do until March 2012.  A committee decides which pieces get exhibited.

July & August – the Olympics hit London.  We have tickets for the football at Wembley and for the Greco Roman wrestling.  It’s one of the original Olympic sports apparently!  We had no luck with athletics tickets, but no doubt will be watching the main events on the TV.

Wynton Marsalis is at the Barbican on July 26 and is on my list of tickets I must buy.

September – nothing planned yet although I have a goal of going to Ronnie Scott’s this year, so maybe that’s the month to go?

October – Joan Armatrading is on tour and we have tickets.  The Scribblaire last saw the amazing Joan a couple of years ago at Colston Hall in Bristol.

November and December – no plans yet.  I’ve never been to a ballet so will try to get along to one this year.  After seeing a great performance of Tosca by the ENO at the end of last year it would be good to get along to see (and hear) another.  Not to mention all the books I want to read, films I want to see and old buildings and churches I’d like to visit!  Whatever I get up to, I’ll be sure and let you know.   What else am I missing?

The Scribblaire January 2012

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

